Biology

CUW’s Biology program is about the study and care of living things, from the largest ecosystem to the smallest microorganism. Our program is big enough to provide a exceptional education and small enough to offer the personal attention you deserve. 

Why Study Biology at CUW?

A CUW degree in Biology offers you:

  • The skills to pursue a career in whatever aspect of biology you choose
  • Hands-on experience through lab work, field work, and research projects 
  • Faculty with diverse research and teaching interests
  • Biology internships to gain laboratory or field experience
  • A Christian philosophy and background 
  • A solid foundation for graduate study

Program Facts

Years to complete: 4

Program Overview

The Biology program at Concordia encourages independent thinking in both the classroom and lab.

What You’ll Learn in CUW’s Biology Program

As a student in this program, you’ll learn about:

  • Microorganisms, plant and animal life
  • Organisms, their habitats, and the processes that drive their behaviors
  • Anatomy, physiology, and the cellular structure of the human body
  • Mendelian, molecular, and population genetics
  • Microbiology and the role bacteria, viruses and microbes play in the environment and human disease
  • Environmental science and how man affects his surroundings
  • Ecology and the interactions between an organism and its environment

Career Choices in Biology

  • Research and development
  • Healthcare
  • Business and consulting
  • Lab assistant
  • Environmental management
  • Medicine
  • Graduate school

Recommended High School Prep Courses

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Advanced Mathematics

Curriculum

Required coursework includes zoology, botany, physics and organic chemistry. Electives include a wide variety of classes such as pharmacology, environmental science, tropical ecology and molecular genetics.

See our course catalog for our full curriculum.

Faculty

Dr. Philip Arnholt

Title: Professor of Science
Office: CCES 104
Phone Number: 4200
E-mail: Philip.arnholt@cuw.edu

Dr. Don Korte

Professor of Science and Department Chair
Office: Siebert 007F
Phone: x4268
E-mail: don.korte@cuw.edu

Dr. Mary Korte

Professor of Science
Office: Siebert 007
Phone: Siebert 007E
E-mail: mary.korte@cuw.edu

Dr. Jessica Loppnow

Assistant Professor – Natural Science
Office: Siebert 002A
Phone: x2047
E-mail: Jessica.loppnow2@cuw.edu

Dr. Sarah Lovern

Associate Professor –Physiology
Office: Siebert 007B
Phone: x4292
E-mail: sarah.lovern@cuw.edu

Dr. Santa Makstenieks

Professor –Science
Office: Siebert 007A
Phone: x4256
E-mail: santa.makstenieks@cuw.edu

Dr. Ann McDonald

Professor – Science
Office: Loeber 020
Phone: x4377
E-mail: ann.mcdonald@cuw.edu

Dr. Aaron Miller

Assistant Professor – Physiology
Office: Siebert 007D
Phone: x4386
E-mail: aaron.miller@cuw.edu

Dr. Tom Saleska

Professor – Science
Office: Siebert 002C
Phone: x4258
E-mail: tom.saleska@cuw.edu

Dr. Rochelle VanHart

Assistant Professor – Science
Office: Siebert 002B
Phone: x4495
E-mail: Rochelle.vanhart@cuw.edu

Dr. David Yahnke

Associate Professor – Science
Office: Siebert 007C
Phone: x2651
E-mail: david.yahnke@cuw.edu

Dr. Michael Young

Associate Professor – Science
Office: Siebert 007B
Phone: x2046
E-mail: Michael.young@cuw.edu

Lisa Stenulson

Life Sciences Lab Coordinator
Office: Rincker 022
Phone: x4514
E-mail: lisa.stenulson@cuw.edu