Environmental Studies

In CUW’s Environmental Studies program you’ll explore the impact human activity has on the natural world. You’ll combine science with creativity, teamwork and a passion for God’s creation to identify environmental problems, understand their causes, and build solutions.

Why Environmental Studies at CUW? 

A CUW degree in Environmental Studies offers you: 

  • A strong background in ecology and environmental science
  • Internships to gain lab or field experience
  • A wide variety of career options when combined with a required minor 

Program Overview

What You’ll Learn in CUW’s Environmental Studies Program

Our program will teach you:

  • Oceanography, earth science, zoology and ecology
  • Environmental politics and policy in the United States 
  • Secular and religious values impacting environmental care 
  • The laws, rules and regulations designed to preserve and protect our environment 
  • Man’s effect on his surroundings

Career Choices

  • Graduate studies in environmental science 
  • Environmental law 
  • Environmental consulting 
  • Lobbyist
  • Park naturalist

Curriculum

The Environmental Studies program includes coursework in biological, physical and earth sciences as well as environmental law and ethics. A variety of electives are available in subjects like meteorology, plant anatomy, and environmental policies. 

See our CUW course catalog for our full curriculum. 

Many students choose to utilize the required minor to prepare themselves for careers in areas such as...

  • Environmental Law
  • Public Policy
  • Park Service

Faculty

Dr. Philip Arnholt
Title: Professor of Science
Office: CCES 104
Phone Number: 4200
E-mail: philip.arnholt@cuw.edu 

Bruce Bessert
Director Concordia Center for Environmental Stewardship
Office: CCES 102
Phone: x4555
E-mail: bruce.bessert@cuw.edu 

Dr. Don Korte
Professor of Science and Department Chair
Office: Siebert 007F
Phone: x4268
E-mail: don.korte@cuw.edu 

Dr. Jessica Loppnow
Assistant Professor of Natural Science
Office: Siebert 002A
Phone: x2047
E-mail: jessica.loppnow2@cuw.edu  

Dr. Sarah Lovern
Associate Professor of Physiology
Office: Siebert 007B
Phone: x4292
E-mail: sarah.lovern@cuw.edu 

Dr. Santa Makstenieks
Professor of Science
Office: Siebert 007A
Phone: x4256
E-mail: santa.makstenieks@cuw.edu 

Dr. Ann McDonald
Professor of Science
Office: Loeber 020 
Phone: x4377
E-mail: ann.mcdonald@cuw.edu

Dr. Aaron Miller
Assistant Professor of Physiology
Office: Siebert 007D
Phone: x4386
E-mail: aaron.miller@cuw.edu 

Dr. Tom Saleska
Professor of Science
Office: Siebert 002C
Phone: x4258
E-mail: tom.saleska@cuw.edu 

Dr. Rochelle VanHart
Assistant Professor of Science
Office: Siebert 002B
Phone: x4495
E-mail: rochelle.vanhart@cuw.edu 

Dr. David Yahnke
Associate Professor of Science
Office: Siebert 007C
Phone: x2651
E-mail: david.yahnke@cuw.edu 

Dr. Michael Young
Associate Professor of Science and Assistand Department Chair
Office: Siebert 007B
Phone: x2046
E-mail: michael.young@cuw.edu

Lisa Stenulson
Life Sciences Lab Coordinator
Office: Rinker 022
Phone: 262-243-4514
E-mail: lisa.stenulson@cuw.edu