Leadership and Governance

As an institution of The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod, Concordia University operates under the guidance of its Board of Regents. University governance invites representation by faculty, staff, and students as together we live the University Vision and achieve its Mission.


Rev. Patrick T. Ferry, Ph.D., was inaugurated as the 8th president of Concordia University in August 1997. As president, he is the chief executive officer of the University and its primary spokesperson. Responsible for all educational and managerial affairs, the president is appointed by and reports to the Board of Regents.

University Leadership

These administrators report to the Office of the President and oversee a broad range of University activities in support of its strategic Mission. The broader Administrative Council is a body of 29 members representative of both residential campuses (Wisconsin and Ann Arbor) and all learning contexts (online and extension campuses) that convenes monthly to advise the President and take action on key University issues.

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Mr. Allen J. Prochnow

Provost & Chief Academic Officer
Dr. William R. Cario

Senior Vice President, University Affairs
Ms. Gretchen M. Jameson

Senior Vice President of Advancement
Rev. Dr. Roy R. Peterson

Vice President of Administration and Chief Liaison to the Office of the President
Rev. Dr. Ryan R. Peterson

Vice President of Information Technology
Mr. Thomas G. Phillip

Vice President of Student Life
Mr. Steven P. Taylor

Executive Staff

Vice Provost of Faculty Affairs
Dr. Leah M. Dvorak

Vice Provost of Enrollment and Engagement
Dr. Michael D. Uden

Assistant Vice President of International Affairs
Rev. Dr. David Birner

Assistant Vice President of Academics, Ann Arbor
Dr. Georgia Kreiger

Assistant Vice President, Strategic Communications
Ms. Lisa Liljegren

Assistant Vice President, Admissions
Mr. Robert Nowak

Assistant Vice President, Extended Campus Operations
Ms. Sarah Pecor

Assistant Vice President of Academics – Student Success
Ms. Elizabeth A. Polzin

Assistant Vice President of University Marketing
Mr. Michael Sapiro

Campus Pastor CUAA
Rev. Randall Duncan

Campus Pastor
Rev. Steven N. Smith

Dean – Batterman School of Business
Dr. Daniel S. Sem

Campus Dean Haab School of Business CUAA
Dr. Suzanne Siegle

Dean – School of Arts and Sciences
Dr. Steven R. Montreal

Campus Dean School of Arts and Sciences CUAA
Dr. Erin Laverick

Dean – School of Education
Dr. James A. Pingel, II

Campus Dean School of Education CUAA
Dr. Sandra Harris

Dean – School of Health Professions
Dr. Linda M. Samuel

Dean – School of Nursing
Dr. Sharon L. Chappy

Campus Dean School of Nursing CUAA
Dr. Cynthia Fenske

Dean – School of Pharmacy
Dr. Dean L. Arneson

Board of Regents

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents bears ultimate responsibility for the University’s operations and finances. The Board works under policy based governance to ensure that University graduates are well developed in mind, body, and spirit, fulfill their vocations, and serve Christ in the Church and the world.

Mr. Terry M. Donovan
Vice President (Retired) – E-Ventures (UPS)

Vice Chair
Ms. Ruth N. Koch
Mental Health Educator – Self-employed

Mr. Dwayne D. Jobst
Principal (Retired) – Lake Country Lutheran High School


Rev. John M. Berg
Associate Pastor – Trinity Lutheran Church in Sheboygan, Wisconsin

Hon. Kenneth B. Bowman
Attorney, Special Magistrate – Tucson City Court
Offensive Lineman/Center (Retired) – Green Bay Packers

Rev. Allan R. Buss
District President - LCMS Northern Illinois District

Ms. Deborah J. Davidson
Vice President, Workforce & Economic Development – Gateway Technical College

Mr. Robert A. Denkert, CPA
Owner – Mighty Fortress Accounting, LLC

Rev. David C. Fleming
Senior Pastor – Our Savior Lutheran Church in Grand Rapids, Michigan

Deac. Lynnette Fredericksen
Deaconess – St. Paul Lutheran Church in Worden, Illinois

Dr. Timothy M. Jest
Physician – General Internal Medicine
Medical Director Primary Care, Milwaukee Area – Ascension Medical Group

Ms. Nancy K. Korom
Chief Nursing Officer and Vice President – Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

Mr. Richard F. Laabs
President and CEO – Lutheran Urban Mission Initiative, Inc. (LUMIN Schools)

Ms. Harriet L. Pedersen
President and CEO – Commerce Industrial Chemicals

Mr. Dale A. Robertson
President and CEO – Grand Rapids Public Museum

Mr. Richard C. Robertson
President and CEO (Retired) – Lutheran Church Extension Fund

Ms. Christine A. Specht-Palmert
President and CEO – Cousins Subs

Rev. Dr. John C. Wille
District President – LCMS South Wisconsin District


Rev. Dwayne M. Lueck
District President – LCMS North Wisconsin District

Rev. Dr. David P.E. Maier
District President – LCMS Michigan District

Mr. Mark F. Polzin
President and CEO (Retired) – Moreland Management Co., Ohio

Concordia University

Rev. Patrick T. Ferry, Ph.D.

Mr. Allen J. Prochnow
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Ms. Gretchen M. Jameson
Senior Vice President, Strategy & University Affairs

Foundation Board

The Concordia University Wisconsin Foundation Board provides counsel on all matters related to University Advancement. This robust slate of regional leadership is an invaluable support to the University in its local, state, and regional philanthropy.

Mr. Mark F. Polzin
President and CEO (Retired) – Moreland Management Co., Ohio

Ms. Christine A. Specht-Palmert
President and CEO, Cousins Subs

Rev. Patrick T. Ferry, Ph.D.
Concordia University President

Executive Secretary, Treasurer
Mr. Allen J. Prochnow
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer – Concordia University

Rev. Dr. Roy R. Peterson
Senior Vice President of Advancement – Concordia University
Board Development Committee Chair

Mr. Jon R. Schumacher
Financial Industry Consultant, Executive Vice President (Retired) – Bank One Wisconsin


Mr. Frederick M. Anderson
President and CEO – Wenthe-Davidson Engineering

Mr. Ted Balistreri
President – Sendik’s Food Market

Mr. Matthew Burow
President – Catalyst Construction

Mr. Terry M. Donovan
Vice President (Retired) – E-Ventures (UPS)

Ms. Mary J. Dowell
Founder & CEO - MJ Dowell & Associates

Ms. Laurie Fallucca
Chief Creative Officer – Palermos Pizza

Mr. William G. Feld
President – D&G Transportation, Inc.

Ms. Judith Fischer Wollack
CEO – Wolverine Human Services

Ms. Kristin E. Gies
Executive Director – Mequon Nature Preserve

Mr. Patrick Horne
Financial Advisor - Northwestern Mutual

Mr. James Kacmarcik
President – Kapco, Inc.

Mr. Bruce E. Leep
Chairman (Retired) – First Financial Bancorp, Cincinnati

Ms. Nancy K. Lewander
Senior Communication Consultant – Northwestern Mutual

Mr. Chezare Misko
COO/Partner – Wisconsin Athletic Club, LLC

Mr. Bryan Seider
Owner – Seider Heating, Plumbing & Electrical

Mr. Randol R. Spaulding
CEO and Founder – Spaulding Clinical Research

Mr. John J. Stollenwerk
President and CEO (Retired) – Allen-Edmonds Shoe Corp.

Mr. John D. Tomasini
Owner/CEO - D.F. Tomasini Contractors

Mr. Rich E. Twietmeyer
Executive Vice President of Sales – M3 Insurance Solutions, Inc.

Mr. Fred Watkins
CEO – National Telephone Supply

Mr. Michael H. White
Chairman (Retired) – Rite-Hite Holding Corp.

Director Primarius

Mr. Theodore W. Batterman
President and CEO (Retired) – Spacesaver Corporation

Mr. Robert E. Schjerven
CEO (Retired) - Lennox International, Inc.

Concordia Representatives

Ms. Gretchen M. Jameson
Senior Vice President, Strategy & University Affairs

Mr. Dean D. Rennicke
Vice President of the Foundation