Clinical instructor excellence awards


To be eligible, a clinical instructor must meet the following criteria:

  • Demonstrate a commitment to providing exceptional experiential education for School of Pharmacy students. Some items or qualities that students may consider in their nomination could include (this isn’t an exhaustive list):
    • A willingness to mentor and serve as a role model
    • Providing timely and meaningful coaching and/or feedback
    • Sharing knowledge and expertise
    • Demonstrating passion toward the profession and enthusiasm for the advancement of pharmacy practice
    • Exhibiting the highest level of dignity and professionalism
    • Facilitating teamwork and an inter-professional approach to patient care
    • Providing opportunities for innovative learning experiences and growth as a professional
  • Serve as a clinical instructor for a minimum of one School of Pharmacy student in the category for which they’re nominated (IPPE and/or APPE) during the academic year.
  • Be nominated by a School of Pharmacy student.
  • Must not hold an assistant/associate/full professor title at School of Pharmacy.
  • Hasn’t received a Clinical Instructor of the Year award in the same category from the School of Pharmacy in the past five years.

How to nominate

Nominations will be accepted from students from Jan. 1–Mar. 30 of each year. To nominate a clinical instructor, please take a moment to fill out our Clinical Instructor Nomination Form.

All nominations will be reviewed by the Office of Experiential Education, and recipient(s) will be selected based on the specific qualities and examples described in the students’ nomination forms. Past evaluation scores and comments submitted by students will also be considered in the selection process.

Award recipients will be notified by April 15.


Recipients of the Clinical Instructor of the Year Award(s) will be recognized at the annual School of Pharmacy Graduation Banquet in May. They’ll also receive a recognition certificate, and their registration fee for the next offering of the ASHP National Pharmacy Preceptors Conference will be paid by the School of Pharmacy.

Award recipients will have their picture and a short biography posted on the School of Pharmacy website.

Clinical instructor excellence awards recipients

2023 Recipients

John Day 2023 award

John Day, PharmD, BCPS
Ascension St. Joseph Hospital

Ben Mattila 2023 award

Ben Mattila, PharmD

2022 Recipients

Matthew Mattila, PharmD, BCPS, BCOP
SSM Health St. Agnes Hospital

Katy Zeier, PharmD
Oscar G. Johnson Veterans Affairs Medical Center

2021 Recipients

Christina Cash, PharmD
Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin, Froedtert West Bend Hospital

Grace Mortrude, PharmD
Clement J. Zablocki Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Ellen Popov, PharmD, BCOP
Advocate Aurora Health

2020 Recipients

Alan Atchison, PharmD

Elizabeth Laubach, PharmD, BCPS
Ascension Wisconsin

2019 Recipients

Rachel Arfstrom, PharmD
Mayo Clinic Health System – Franciscan Healthcare
LaCrosse, WI

Mark Meranda, RPh
Froedtert & Medical College of Wisconsin
Menomonee Falls, WI

Andy Ticcioni, PharmD, BCPS
Ascension Columbia St. Mary’s Hospital Milwaukee
Milwaukee, WI

2018 Recipients

Mike Gillard, PharmD, BCPS
Pharmacy Manager
Ascension | Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare – Franklin & Midwest Orthopedic Specialty Hospital

Josh Welch, PharmD
Trig’s Pharmacy

Ceanne Simmelink, PharmD, BCPS
HSHS St. Nicholas Hospital

2017 Recipients

Amy Gorgen, RPh
Community Memorial Hospital

Angelo Jones, PharmD
AltScripts Specialty Pharmacy

Jesse Schaetzel, PharmD
Aurora Pharmacy

2016 Recipients

Travis Dash, PharmD
Agnesian HealthCare

Tammy Knaus, PharmD
Aurora Pharmacy

Ryan Szaniawski, PharmD
Community Memorial Hospital

2015 Recipients

Erin Turk, PharmD
Froedtert Hospital

Joe Sterzinger, PharmD, BCPS
Aurora Medical Center—Summit

Kimberly Giovannetti, PharmD
Pick 'n Save Pharmacy

2014 Recipients

Anne Daniels, PharmD, BCPS, AAHIVP
Froedtert Hospital

Edward Merle Johnson II, PharmD, PhD, R.Ph.
Orthopaedic Hospital of Wisconsin

Meaghan McMurray, PharmD
Aurora Pharmacy

School of Pharmacy Program Awards

2021 ACPE Noteworthy Example program award in interprofessional education

ACPE's Noteworthy Example distinction was awarded for Concordia’s work in interprofessional education. At the conclusion of each accreditation review cycle, ACPE and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) recognize model programs throughout the nation. 

2015 AACP award of excellence in assessment winner

AACP’s Award for Excellence in Assessment recognizes outstanding Doctor of Pharmacy assessment programs for their progress in developing and applying evidence of outcomes as part of the ongoing evaluation and improvement of pharmacy professional education. AACP has selected the Concordia University Wisconsin School of Pharmacy’s portfolio as a winner of the 2015 Award for Excellence in Assessment.