The Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

all students, all faculty, all teaching

Our Mission

To support Concordia’s mission of Christ-centered, Lutheran higher education, our Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) strives to enhance teaching ability in all faculty with all students in all teaching methods (face-to-face, virtual, blended and fully online). We develop faculty to connect faith and learning, to develop students in the Global Learning Outcomes (GLOs), and to create active learning environments that engage all students. We support online and blended course and programs with instructional design services.

Our Work with Faculty

CELT encourages self-reflective, scholarly teaching among Concordia faculty through programs, consultations, and collaborations. CELT works with all full-time and part-time faculty teaching face-to-face, virtual, blended, or fully online courses, supports programs and departments in curriculum development and program-level assessment of student learning outcomes, and collaborates with other Concordia offices to encourage faculty in scholarship and leadership activities. An Ann Arbor faculty member coordinates CELT activities for that campus.
The CELT provides learning opportunities and support for faculty and departments in:  

  • Connecting Faith & Learning
  • Best practices in teaching in all learning methods/course deliveries
  • Nine Principles for Good Practice in Teaching and Learning
  • Instructional design services for fully online and blended courses and programs
  • Teaching the Global Learning Outcomes
  • Curriculum improvement and development, including curriculum mapping
  • Faculty Book Groups
  • Experiences and concerns of newer full-time faculty (2 – 5 years)
  • Syllabus and course design
  • Orientation, programs and resources for faculty teaching fully online, face-to-face, and virtual
  • Peer Evaluation of Teaching
  • Training and resources for Blackboard LMS including student engagement tools, like VoiceThread
  • Assessment of student learning at the program and university levels
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)
  • Formative teaching observations and consultations

Contact the CELT

The CELT office and learning spaces are located in R213 at the Mequon Campus. Our phone is 262-243-CELT x2358.
Request Blackboard Learn help for a face-to-face course: celtsupport@cuw.edu


CELT Staff


Dr. Elizabeth Evans

Dr. Elizabeth Evans

Director
262-243 4283
elizabeth.evans@cuw.edu or celt@cuw.edu


Susan Gallanis

Susan Gallanis

Assistant Director, CELT
262-243-2007
susan.gallanis@cuw.edu


Catherine Robertson

Instructional Development Specialist
262-243-2082
catherine.robertson@cuw.edu


Diana Belscamper

Diana Belscamper

Instructional Development Specialist – Online Teaching and Learning
262-243-1802
Diana.Belscamper@cuw.edu


Madelyn Kempen

Madelyn Kempen

Lead Instructional Designer
262-243-2109
Madelyn.Kempen@cuw.edu


Mary Buenz

Mary Buenz

Instructional Designer
262-243-4244
Mary.Buenz@cuw.edu


Tim Gieschen

Tim Gieschen

Instructional Designer
262-243-2077
Timothy.Gieschen@cuw.edu


Katherine Mayer

Katherine Mayer

Instructional Designer
262-243-4231
katherine.mayer@cuw.edu


Jacklyn Pomeranke

Jacklyn Pomeranke

Instructional Designer
262-243-2002
Jacklyn.Pomeranke@cuw.edu


Taylor Richards

Taylor Richards

Instructional Designer
262-243-2195
taylor.richards@cuw.edu


Jan Weisenbach

Jan Weisenbach

Instructional Designer
989-245-5510
Janice.Weisenbach@cuaa.edu



CELT on Social Media

Visit the CELT’s Facebook page
Visit our Twitter account
Check out the CELT blog

Register for a Program Today

The CELT has a variety of programs to choose from. To sign up for a program, or if you have any questions, please contact Susan Gallanis.